Connect with us


Crusader Kings 3: How To Change Government Type

Deciding to change the government of your kingdom in Crusader Kings 3? Here’s all you need to know.

Jed Gaspang



A government is a system of rules that are implemented across your territory. The game has 3 major playable government types—feudal, tribal, and clan. This guide will show you how to change your government type in Crusader Kings 3.

How To Change Your Government Type – Crusader Kings 3

Governments are an important part of the game as it determines any laws to be followed as well as obligations like taxes and levies. For instance, you’re currently playing a tribal government.

To start, go to the Decisions tab and choose Adapt Feudal Ways. In clicking, you’ll see a list of requirements for you to complete:

  • You have the Law Absolute Tribal Authority
  • Vidilism is an Organized Faith
  • Your Level of Fame is Distinguished (2) or above
  • The Development level in the Chiefdom of Pomesania is greater or equal to 5
  • Has all Tribal Era Innovations

Take note, in moving from one government to another, you’ll need to adhere to all requirements above. This might take as you’ll need to increase your tribal authority, implement several reforms, convert to an organized faith, get tribal inventions unlocked, etc. However, this is certainly doable.

On the other hand, the decision to move from Tribal to Clan will only appear if either you or your liege follow the Muslim faith. To switch to a Clan government, go to Decisions and select Adopt Clan Way. Then, you’ll have to switch back to your old faith.

READ MORE: Crusader Kings 3: How To Feudalize

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *