Connect with us


Star Wars: The Old Republic: Which Class Is the Best? (Guide)

Unsure whether to choose a Sith or a Jedi? Stuck between a Lightsaber and a Blaster? Then this guide is for you.




Choosing a character in any game is tough but choosing a class in an MMORPG must be one of the hardest choices to make. Not only do you have to consider your leveling experience, but also how effective you’ll be in endgame content.

For the longest time, your class in SWTOR was tied to the initial story class you chose, but with the advent of patch 7.0 and Legacy of the Sith, you have a lot more freedom when it comes to choosing a class.

But which style to choose? Let’s take a look at them.

Which Class Is the Best in Star Wars: The Old Republic?

Classes in SWTOR are now divided in two combat styles: Tech-based or Forced-based.

Tech-based classes, like the Bounty Hunter, Imperial Agent, Smuggler, and Commando, get to choose from 8 combat styles, each with their own skills, roles, and weapons.

Meanwhile, the Force-based origin stories get to choose from 4, depending on their alignment. However, the 4 dark side and 4 light side combat styles are largely mirrored, so don’t worry too much about that. Plus, you get to choose the opposite side later too.

Combat Styles and Weapons

With 7.0, your combat style will fully dictate the weapon and skills you use from level 1. That means that if you want to use Smuggler with a Blaster Rifle, or a Bounty Hunter with a Sniper Rifle, you can. Your story doesn’t dictate your gameplay choices anymore.

There are 9 weapons in the game, each tied to a specific combat style.

  • Single Lightsabers – For Guardians and Juggernauts
  • Dual Lightsabers – For Sentinels and Marauders
  • Double-Bladed Lightsabers – For Shadows and Assassins
  • Ceremonial Lightsabers – For Sages and Sorcerers
  • Blaster Pistol – For Scoundrels and Powertechs
  • Dual Blaster Pistols – For Gunslingers and Mercenaries
  • Blaster Rifles – For Vanguards and Operatives
  • Assault Cannons – For Commandos
  • Sniper Rifles – For Snipers

The Holy Trinity (Tank, Healer, and DPS)

If you are mostly doing story content, you can choose pretty much any combat style you want. Your companions should be able to complement any choice you make by filling out missing roles. However, the role that you choose will be important for Endgame content.

There are 3 roles that classes are divided by: damage dealers (DPS), tanks, and healers.

If you want to be the one taking the punches and feel like an unbreakable wall, you want to go with a tank.

There are 2 Tech-based tanks: the Vanguard and Powertech, and 4 Force-based tanks: the Jedi Shadow, Sith Assassin, Jedi Guardian, and Sith Juggernaut. Jedi Shadow’s and Sith Assassins add stealth to the mix of their tools, while the rest are more about being close and personal or using shields.

If you want to be the lifeline of the party, literally, you’ll want to choose a healer. There are 2 Force-based healers: the Jedi Sage and the Sith Sorcerer, and 4 Tech-based healers: the Commando, Mercenary, Scoundrel, and Operative. For heals with mobility and stealth, choose the scoundrel or operative.

And finally, you have your face burners. The glass cannons. Every class can spec into damage, including the ones we mentioned before. DPS classes have their own quirks between range and melee, consistent damage vs burst, and DoT effects, but they are all ultimately about blowing up stuff.

Truth be told, there isn’t one best class in the game. It will ultimately fall to your preferences. So, whether you choose to blast stuff, slice it, or shoot it with lightning, you’ll be good.

ALSO READ: Wartales: All Profession Bonuses

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


Genshin Impact: Totem Puzzle in ‘Garden of Endless Pillars’ Guide

Lighting the Pyro Totems in the correct order will help you complete this puzzle, and unlock a fast travel waypoint.





The Garden of Endless Pillars is located within the northwestern part of the Sumeru Desert. Once you’ve reached there, you’ll notice a giant slab cemented in the dunes, along with various Pyro totems surrounding it nearby.

There will be various mirage walls across the region, but they should be fairly easy to traverse, while hitting the totems with Pyro attacks.

We’ll explain how to successfully complete the Totem Puzzle in the “Garden of Endless Pillars” Guide – read on for our walkthrough.

Totem Puzzle for Garden of Endless Pillars Guide in Genshin Impact

The very first thing you’ll need to do is go to the Garden of Endless Pillars location on the map, which we’ve indicated in the screenshots below.

Once you’ve reached The Garden of Endless Pillars, you’ll need to switch over to Amber, as you’ll have to utilize Pyro attacks on the corresponding totems.

The first totem is extremely easy, as there are no walls blocking you – simply take a right upon entering the area, and shoot the totem.

To reach the second totem (pictured above) you will have to walk forward a fair bit until you spot the totem located in the right-hand corner. As you are blocked by the wall, you will need to traverse onto the concrete pillars to get a vantage point from which you can target the second totem.

Head right for the next totem, located in front of crumbled concrete walls. To find the last two totems, proceed forward and take a slight left. The very last one is located to the right, opposite of the prior totem.

Hitting all the totems will cause the slab to activate, and after this sequence, you will unlock a fast travel point for this region, which you can then use moving forward throughout the new update.

Continue Reading